Search Projects

Date Determined
(Leave blank for any dates)


The Panel is appointed by the Minister for Planning in consultation with the Minister for Primary Industries and the Minister for Resources and Energy.

Professor Snow Barlow is an agricultural scientist with a Masters of Rural Science from the University of New England and a PhD in soil-plant-water relations from Oregon State University. He is an Emeritus Professor at the University of Melbourne.

He has had a significant involvement with the natural resources issues of Australian agriculture and chairs the Victorian Endowment for Science, Knowledge and Innovation. He is a member of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation Board and the Research Advisory Committee of the Australian Farm Institute.

Professor Barlow a fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and the Australian Institute of Agricultural Science and Technology .He has also served on the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council.

Professor Garry Willgoose has focused on hydrogeomorphology for the last 20 years, with particular expertise in long term post mining rehabilitation forecasting/environmental management.

More recently, his focus has been on soil and spoil properties pre and post mining. He also provides high quality expertise in the long term impacts of mining and groundwater impacts of coal seam gas.

Mr George Gates has had a 40 year career in hydrogeology and was, until March 2014, Director of Water Management at the NSW Office of Water. He has extensive knowledge of the State's groundwater systems and has developed a number of groundwater policies for NSW.

He has extensive experience in groundwater connectivity, a detailed understanding of public policy and was the President of the NSW Chapter of the International Association of Hydrogeologists from 1994-2004. In 2013 he was awarded the Public Service Medal for his contribution to water management in NSW.

Dr Ian Lavering is a geologist with extensive experience in geological mapping and the impact of resource development in major agricultural regions of Western Australia.

He has also provided advice to Commonwealth agencies on onshore and offshore petroleum drilling and environmental management and is experienced in the potential impacts on aquifers from drilling activities.

His most recent professional positions include: Principal Geoscientist with the Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Advice Group of Geoscience Australia (a Commonwealth agency); Adjunct Professor in Sustainable Energy Management at the University of NSW; and Director of Energy and Environment Management Pty Ltd.

Mr Brett Whelan is an internationally respected agricultural scientist based at the University of Sydney. An Associate Professor, his work and his interests are focused on strengthening the role of sustainable agricultural management within society.

He has a wide knowledge of general and production issues important to farmers, gained from more than 25 years of involvement in agriculture.

Professor Alice Clark holds a Bachelor of Science and a Master of Science in Economic Geology, proprietor of Cdek Geological and Mining Services and is a registered primary producer in NSW. Prof Clark is the Deputy Director - Strategic Planning at the University of Queensland in the Sustainable Minerals Institute. She is also is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (AusIMM). She held the role of President of the AusIMM in 2011 and 2012.

Ms Catherine Hird has 40 years of experience in soil survey and land capability classification and is engaged by multiple government agencies to provide scientific assessments to create practical designs for schemes that apply waste products to land.

She holds a Master of Applied Science in the specialist area of geographical information systems, as well as an honours degree in agricultural science with a major in soil science. Ms Hird has been awarded the highest level of Certified Practising Soil Science by the Soil Science Society of Australia.

Mr Geoff Sharrock has held a number of Chief Executive and Director positions with various coal mines in NSW. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Geology and a Bachelor of Arts in Economics.

He has a strong working knowledge of the regulations for exploration, as well as of developing, expanding and operating coal mines. Mr Sharrock has also served on Singleton Council from 2004 to 2008, providing firsthand experience in stakeholder engagement and community expectations with respect to mining and petroleum developments.

Mining & Petroleum Gateway Panel Operational Procedures

Mining & Petroleum Gateway Panel Code of Conduct

Mining & Petroleum Gateway Panel Complaints Handling Policy

Mining & Petroleum Gateway Panel Charter